www.chinaphonearena.com

Full Version: Absolute Newbies guide to rooting Axon Elite
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Most tutorials here assume readers are competent computer administrators, or are aged between 10 and 21 which pretty much amounts to the same thing.

Although a Microsoft systems administrator, I have used Linux for the last 10 years for my home machines. I know little of Android systems and have written this tutorial to ease other Android virgins into the way of rooting your ZTE Axon Elite.

If you are uncomfortable with the command-line interface (terminal) it's probably better to think again if you really want to do this, as when things go wrong a terminal command prompt is the only way to sort it out.

Axon Elite rooting procedure

1) enable debugging in phone goto: settings->all->developer options->enable usb debugging

2) download all needed files (Links here get truncated/deleted - just google the filenames -Google is your friend)

a) jdk-7u79-windows-x64.exe ----Windows Java environment install this first.
b) android-studio-bundle-141.2456560-windows.exe ----Windows SDK environment.
c) adb-setup-1.4.2.exe ----The windows setup for adb environment.
d) recovery.img ----The recovery file to be put into the root directory of your sd card.
e) UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip ----superuser file for your axon file to be put into the root directory of your sd card.
f) adb_root.apk -----This needs to be put in the root directory of your SD card.
g) 2015111717052894.zip ----This is obtainable from the Thailand ZTE site Required for returning to stock should things go wrong.

3) Install Java, Android Studio/SDK and adb to computer IN THAT ORDER- Normal windows install.

4) Copy files to sd card "adb_root.apk" "recovery.img" and "UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.46.zip"